Letterhead

Products, documents and service tips for the Quantec QRS

Of course, we offer more than you can see here. If you have any further questions, please contact us.

  • Quantec QRS Repair

    Robust technology from the 80s

    The Quantec QRS is a technical and sonic milestone. The instrument rightly deserves its place in the audio Olympus. Many Quantecs still work flawlessly even after 40 years of studio operation.

    Heat as a problem

    Because of the enormous component density, the QRS gets quite hot. When overheating, the signal might be contaminated by annoying cracking or transients. In most cases, these phenomena disappear as soon as the QRS is mounted with a little distance to other devices and has enough "air to breathe". Passive air circulation is the magic formula here, because the QRS has no fan.

    Any issues? No worries!

    In the case of a broken component, the annoying phenomena persist despite good ventilation. Fortunately, there are good chances for a repair!

    Quantec QRS The complex technology in the Quantec is – as with the PPG Wave – a stroke of genius of German engineering! Thus, the QRS has neither a central processor nor other proprietary DSPs. Rather, the reverb sound is created via myriads of discrete logic chips, most of which are still available today.

    The picture shows a QRS wired for measuring. With the help of a logic analyzer, numerous data streams are checked in order to locate the defective components. This challenge can be mastered with structured methods in a reasonable time.

    Our long term experience and the well-filled component stock make us positive: The QRS has a good chance for a successful repair and can certainly provide excellent services for years to come.

    Service order

    If you want us to repair your defective QRS, please get in contact with us before sending any equipment. Just send us an e-mail to Open contact page (no Javascript). After clarifying all details you will get an e-mail with all necessary information.

  • Quantec QRS Documents

    Here you can download the Quantec QRS User´s Manual in Englisch as well as the Quantec QRS User´s Manual in German. These PDFs are free of charge and you may download and print them for private use only! Special thanks to Theo Bloderer for providing the original paper manuals!

    Please use the download-option of your browser.

© 2003-2022 Alexander Guelfenburg, Virtual Music e.U. – Vintage synthesizer repair service. Application of service hints and usage of products at your own risk. Changes without notice. With the use of this web page you accept our General Business Terms. Legal Disclosure | Data Privacy Statement | Coding: Gernot Ebenlechner

Letterhead

Produkte, Dokumente und Service-Tipps für den Quantec QRS

Natürlich bieten wir mehr an, als Sie hier sehen können. Wenn Sie weitere Fragen haben, bitte kontaktieren Sie uns.

  • Quantec QRS Reparatur

    Robuste Technik aus den 80ern

    Der Quantec QRS ist technisch und klanglich ein Meilenstein. Das Instrument verdient zu Recht seinen Platz im Audio-Olymp. Viele Quantecs arbeiten selbst nach 40 Jahren Studiobetrieb immer noch einwandfrei.

    Wärme als Problem

    Wegen der enormen Bauteildichte wird der QRS ziemlich heiß. Beim Überhitzen wird das Signal mitunter von störendem Knacksen oder Britzeln verunreinigt. Meist verschwinden diese Phänomene wieder, sobald der QRS mit etwas Abstand zu benachbarten Geräten montiert wird und genügend „Luft zum Atmen“ hat. Passive Luftzirkulation lautet hier die Zauberformel, denn der QRS besitzt keinen Lüfter.

    Ein Defekt? Gute Chancen!

    Bei einem kaputten Bauteil verharren die lästigen Phänomene trotz guter Belüftung. Glücklicherweise gibt es gute Chancen für eine Reparatur!

    Quantec QRS + Logic Analyser Die komplexe Technik im Quantec ist – wie auch beim PPG Wave - ein Geniestreich deutscher Ingenieurskunst! So hat der QRS weder einen zentralen Prozessor noch sonstige proprietärere DSPs. Der Raumklang entsteht vielmehr über Myriaden diskreter Logik-Chips, die großteils auch heute noch verfügbar sind.

    Das Bild zeigt ein zum Messen verkabeltes Exemplar. Mittels Logic-Analyser werden hier zahlreiche Datenströme überprüft um die defekten Bauteile ausfindig zu machen. Diese Herausforderung lässt sich mit strukturierten Methoden durchaus in sinnvoller Zeit bewältigen.

    Unsere jahrelange Erfahrung und das gut gefüllte Bauteillager lassen uns grünes Licht geben: Der QRS ist gut zu reparieren und kann durchaus weitere Jahre hervorragende Dienste leisten.

    Service Auftrag

    Möchten Sie eine Reparatur Ihres Quantec QRS in Auftrag geben, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte zum Abklären der Details.

  • Quantec QRS User´s Manual

    Hier finden Sie hier das Quantec QRS User´s Manual in Deutsch sowie das Quantec QRS User´s Manual in Englisch zum Download. Diese PDF-Dokumente werden gratis zur Verfügung gestellt und dürfen ausschließlich zum privaten Gebrauch verwendet werden.

    An dieser Stelle herzlichen Dank an Theo Bloderer für das zur Verfügung stellen des Originals.

    Bitte verwenden Sie die Download-Option Ihres Browsers.

© 2003-2022 Alexander Guelfenburg, Virtual Music e.U. – Fachwerkstatt für Studioelektronik, Vintage Synthesizer und Elektroakustik. Anwendung der Service Tipps und Produkte auf eigene Gefahr. Änderungen vorbehalten. Es gelten unsere Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen. Impressum | Datenschutzbestimmung | Programmierung: Gernot Ebenlechner